My favorite place; Thoughts at the end of day 3

So far,this week has been great. To think I still have over two weeks left is absolutely thrilling.

Along with the amazing opportunity to feed around 500 kids with the thrive team today; I got learn new words in creole, eat fresh mango, pineapple, guava, and avocado, paint butterflies on precious little girls faces, and hang out with friends (both Haitian and American). Also, I got to play soccer today, (although the 8 year old boys in my drill line told me I wasn’t good at it), I enjoyed them trying to teach me how to do the “touch touch pass” while they laughed at me as I struggled. And on top of all of that, I got to take hundreds of pictures of it all.

It is honestly the greatest feeling to be in Haiti. I don’t know if it is the reasons listed above, the bright sun, the breathtaking scenery, the curiosity of a new language, the feeling of community, the new relationships, or the new experiences; but I know that every time I have come to Haiti, something is vastly different about me. I feel emotions differently, I think differently, and in someways I may even act differently.

One reason I am different in Haiti than America; I sweat a lot more. It’s something you need to accept while here, sweat is inevitable. I don’t just mean a little perspiration, I’m talking about the kind of sweat that happens after 30+ minuets of intense exercise… But it happens all day. Hopefully I’ll eventually learn to find shade like the Haitians!

All gross reasons aside, I think my Haiti differences are a lot bigger than something I can explain. When I came to Haiti two years ago, I was a completely different person than I am today. I truly believe Haiti has been a big part of how I have become who I am now.

Tonight, Pastor Dan said that I am intentionally putting myself where God can use me with my desire to be in Haiti. Except I’m not even sure of how I’m being used, but I still have that feeling of greatness… Like I am in the exactly perfect place.

Though it’s funny, I see Haiti differently now from the other two years I have been here. The first time I was here, Haiti devastated me, I had culture shock. I couldn’t believe people lived the way Haitians do while I was just a days travel away living in luxury. The second time I came here, Haiti made me want to be a Haitian. I definitely fell in love with Haiti last summer. It was a unique kind of love that is possible to have for a country. Instead of being surprised people lived that way, I just wanted to be there to help them while they lived their lives. Now this time, I realize how much Haiti has influenced changes in my life through the past year. To my boyfriend, family, and closest friends, that last statement makes sense. It has been evident I have made life simplifying choices recently that are much different than how I used to be. Now, while I am back to that strong desire of wanting to be a Haitian, my eyes are opening to how much Haiti really had and will continue to influence my life.

To any of you parents of students on the thrive trip; I hope Haiti is influencing your kids like it influenced me. It is great to see them all work so hard and be willing to do what needs to be done.

Sarah

2 thoughts on “My favorite place; Thoughts at the end of day 3

  1. Sarah, I am enjoying hearing about your trip to Haiti! I believe you are exactly where God wants you to be. love you, momma

  2. Thank you for sharing your experiences in Haiti. I am sure this experience will change my daughter Christina. We are praying for you all. It has been great seeing pictures that have been posted on Facebook. Please give Christina a big hug and tell her Happy Birthday on Saturday when she turns 18.

Leave a Reply

